Concorso d'Eleganza Villa d'Este

Go to the store and download the event app

Coppa d’Oro Villa d’Este and “Special Prizes”Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este 2024

Coppa d’Oro Villa d’Este and “Special Prizes”Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este 2024

The public announces its verdict: The Coppa d’Oro Villa d’Este this year goes to the McLaren F1.

To this day, the McLaren F1 remains the fastest naturally aspirated production car with a top speed of 384 km/h (240 mph). The idea for the F1 was born while four men were awaiting the return flight from the Milanese Linate Airport after the 1988 Monza Grand Prix in Milan. At that time, Ron Dennis was head of McLaren, and the supercar was designed by Gordon Murray. The car featured an all-carbon chassis and a central driving position with no power driving aids at all. This arguably remains the most driver-centric supercar ever built.

When McLaren were looking for a power unit, Murray contacted Paul Rosche, BMW’s legendary engine designer who was well known to him from his Brabham days. BMW Motorsport went on to supply a 6.1 litre V12 engine designed by Rosche for the new supercar. Almost immediately after the launch in 1992, customers asked for a racing version. Consequently, 28 racers were built out of a total of around 100 cars produced. Although never originally designed as a race car, the McLaren F1 was very successful campaigning in races, with outright victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1995.

Throughout the traditional parade of historical cars on the terrace of Villa d’Este the first “Special Prizes” were awarded as well. The list below presents its winners with the model, year of manufacture and owner provided in each case:

TROFEO Coppa d´Oro Villa d’Este
Best of Show by Public Referendum
McLaren F1, 1995
Tony Vassilopoulos, United Kingdom

TROFEO BMW Group Classic
For the most sensitive restoration by the Jury
Bentley, 3 Litre, 1927
Michael Dacre, United Kingdom

TROFEO Rolls-Royce
For the most elegant Rolls-Royce by the Jury
Rolls-Royce, Silver Ghost, 1914
Terence George Bramall, United Kingdom

TROFEO Vranken-Pommery
For the best iconic car by the Jury
Bugatti, Type 35C, 1928
Auriga Collection, Germany

For the best preserved post-war car
Fiat, Dino Aerodinamica, 1967
Lee Hower, United States

TROFEO Auto & Design
For the most exciting design by the Jury
Aston Martin, DB4 GT Zagato, 1960
Andreas Halvorsen, United States

TROFEO il Canto del Motore
For the best engine sound by the Jury
Lamborghini, Countach LP400, 1976
Christine Schams, United Kingdom

TROFEO Automobile Club Como
For the car driven from farthest away
Ruf, CTR “Yellowbird”, 1987
Alois Ruf, Germany

TROFEO Poltrona Frau
For the car with the best preserved interior by the Jury
Talbot Lago, T26 Grand Sport – Prototype, 1953
Kaspar Fleischmann, Switzerland

Privacy Preference