Concorso d'Eleganza Villa d'Este

Go to the store and download the event app

THE JURYConcorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este 2023

THE JURYConcorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este 2023

Any contest lives not only through its participants but in particular benefits from the committed efforts of its Jury.

Supreme quality devoted to lots of small decisions is necessary in order to be able to present a profoundly meaningful result. Elegance and the historical significance of the vehicles are of the essence, but no less crucial are authenticity and originality. A list of criteria is never sufficient for work in this genre. Logic and hard facts are never the sole arbiters for the ultimate result. It’s the nuances that make the work of the Jury demanding and complex.

The Jurors responsible for adjudicating at the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este rank among the leading experts in their fields. They draw on their in-depth expertise to assess the participating vehicles, they appraise the vehicles within the teams and initially decide on the victories in the classes and the award of special prizes. Out of the class winners, the Jury then determines the overall winner of the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este – the BMW Group Trofeo Best of Show.

This supremely talented group of Jurors arrives at all its decisions with unimpeachable independence on the basis of established rules. This matchless propriety upholds the enduring global relevance of the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este and forms the foundation for the contest’s outstanding reputation. These high aspirations were already axiomatic back in 1995, when there was a move to continue the tradition of the beauty contests on the shores of Lake Como inaugurated way back in 1929, and re-establish them in the modern era. Today, almost three decades later, these principles of probity continue to be implemented as rigorously in contemporary times as they were in the beginning.

This year’s Jury will work together in this format for the first time and the 14 members of the Jury will be united by their unbounded enthusiasm for classic cars. Their sense of fair play, knowledge base, dedicated and completely independent assessment of the automobiles is an important motivation for owners to participate in the Concorso d’Eleganza Villa d’Este. The illustrious reputation acknowledged across the world spans decades, and the sublime standard and prestige of the event are undoubtedly due in no small measure to the Jury’s distinguished dedication. These qualities of the event simultaneously stand as a supremely honourable complement for each and every member of the Jury.

1 Lorenzo Ramaciotti +++ 2 Adolfo Orsi +++ 3 J. Philip Rathgen +++ 4 Stefano Pasini

5 Richard Adatto +++ 6 Massimo Delbò +++ 7 Nigel Matthews +++ 8 Jay Ward +++ 9 Max Girardo +++ 10 François Melcion

11 Madan Mohan +++ 12 Laura Kukuk +++ 13 Quirina Louwman +++ 14 Sebastian Büchel

Privacy Preference